Photo: Reuters

|November 10, 2013 7:23pm|

Update: Government of Canada will match funds for Philippines donated by Canadians. More updates coming soon.

Super Typhoon Haiyan (locally known as Yolanda) made its first landfall on 8 November in Guiuan municipality, Eastern Samar province. The areas highly affected by Typhoon Haiyan are Tacloban City, Ormoc City, the Provinces of Eastern Samar and Southern Leyte in Region 8, followed by the Province of Masbate in Region 5, the Provinces of Aklan, Iloilo and Capiz in Region 6, and some municipalities in Region 7. A total of 37 provinces, 38 cities, 215 municipalities from 9 regions were affected and declared in a “State of Calamity”.

At least 18 million people live in the worst affected regions.  As of Nov 10, 2013, there were already 10,000 unconfirmed deaths from local reports.

As of this reporting period, there are many areas un-assessed due to poor communication and inaccessibility. ACF has already started assessment in Bohol, and is joining the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) and other INGOs in Tacloban City.  Another team is bound for Eastern Samar and another for Masbate.  ACF is in contact with national agencies, as well as UN agencies, and is in coordination with different clusters and other relevant partners.

Priority needs are on: Water, Sanitation & Hygiene (WASH), Food, Health, Shelter (in all affected areas) and Nutrition (particularly in Eastern Samar and Masbate).  ACF is planning interventions in WASH, Food Security and Nutrition in the Provinces of Leyte, Southern Leyte, Eastern Samar and Masbate.

Please keep watch for more updates.


Post a Comment

Your email is kept private. Required fields are marked *